How many white rhinos are left in the world?

By the end of 2007 wild-living southern white rhinos had increased to an estimated 17,480 animals. However, the northern white rhino is functionally extinct; only one known female is alive. Efforts are being made to save the subspecies by the use of frozen sperm and eggs or by cloning