How did sugarland texas get it's name?

In 1879, Colonel E. H. Cunningham bought a 12,500-acre plantation where he had a sugar-refining plant built. In 1908, the refinery was purchased by the Imperial Sugar Company who developed the town of Sugar Land, modernizing the refinery and building houses for the employees and their families.