How do you control a hot air balloon?

The only control is through the gas fired burner that provides hot air to the balloon. You only control ascent and descent. The prevailing winds drive the balloon along. Many people use their cellphones to coordinate with a ground crew, to meet them and pick them, after the flight is complete.