How similar are east asian languages?

That depends. East Asian languages like mandarin Cantonese Tibetan and Burmese fall under the Sino Tibetan family and have a lot of similarities. Korean and Mongolian are a part of the Altaic family. Japanese is the only language in its family and shares no similarities with any other language.