What's a teddy bear hamster?

The teddy bear hamster is also known as a long-haired Syrian hamster. These tiny mammals are herbivores eating grains, vegetables, and fruit. A teddy bear hamster’s tail is very short at about half an inch long. They are solitary animals with an average lifespan of 2-3 years.