What is a hurricane storm?

A hurricane is a type of cyclone, which is a generic term for any powerful, rotating storm that originates in warm tropical oceans and creates strong winds and heavy rain. ... A weather system technically becomes a hurricane once it reaches wind speeds of 74 mph