Why did the show insecure end?

Insecure ended with season 5 because Issa Rae knew she wanted the show to be five-seasons long early on. She is quoted as saying that it's the right amount of time to tell a concise story and she likes to leave on a high. It also provides the actors with the time to work on other projects.