How do you keep from crying when you're cutting onions?

chew gum, the act of chewing helps prevent breathing through your nose.

---

Some people are more sensitive to onions than others, and what works for one person won’t necessarily work for everyone. Freezing and cutting under a vent are effective ways of cutting an onion without crying. Tight-fitting goggles is the best solution if you have no tolerance for onion gases.