What does aerating wine do?

According to Wine Spectator: Wine is made up of hundreds of compounds, and with aeration, usually the volatile undesirable compounds will evaporate faster than the desirable, aromatic and flavorful ones. In particular, aeration reduces sulfites and ethanol, which improves the smell and flavor.