Why is bear lake called bear lake?

Originally Bear Lake was called Black Bear Lake by Donald Mackenzie, explorer for the North West Fur Company who discovered it in 1819. I imagine he named it because of all the bears around the area. Later, they changed the name to just Bear Lake.