Who invented the tomato?

As a cultivated food, the tomato originated with the indigenous people of Mexico. The Aztecs used tomatoes during the Spanish conquest. Spain brought tomatoes to Europe. The word tomato is derived from a Spanish word, which is derived from the Aztec word Nahuatl.