What is in a vest?

There are 3 broad categories of vests: 1. plain fabric, 2. insulated and 3. ballistic. Insulated vests contain some sort of insulation for warmth. Ballistic vests contain some sort of high strength material such as Kevlar or ceramic armor plates to protect the wearer from bullets, etc.