Who created the cartoon the family circus?

Family Circus debuted in 1960. Bil Keane, creator of the comically endearing “Family Circus,” the world's most popular single-panel daily cartoon, died Nov. 8, 2011 at his home in Paradise Valley, Ariz. He was 89.