Where did the name cup of joe come from?

3 theories of the origins of the term “Cup of Joe”are #1 Secretary of the Navy in 1913, Josephus Daniels, prohibited alcohol leading to more coffee consumption. #2 It’s a shortened slang term for coffee: java and jamoke. #3 Coffee is considered “a common man” drink & Joe is a common man name.