How does a volcano blow up?

Volcanoes erupt when molten rock (magma) rises to the surface. Magma is formed when the earth's mantle melts. Melting happens where tectonic plates are pulling apart or where one plate is pushed down under another. If magma is thick, gas bubbles can't escape & pressure builds up as magma rises.