What happens if you run a microwave with nothing in it?

This can be dangerous, and cause high levels of health risk microwaves to leak out of the oven door seals, and damage seals, due to nothing in the oven absorbing the radiation. Microwave leakage detectors are purchasable, to test door seals of your oven, by placing a cup of water in while testing.