What was the first animal to roam the earth?

Earth's first animal was the ocean-drifting comb jelly, not the simple sponge, which shocked scientists who didn't think the earliest critter could be so complex. The mystery of the first animal denizen of the planet can only be inferred from fossils and by studying related animals today.