What are the properties of bases?

Bases change the colour of litmus from red to blue. They are bitter in taste. Bases lose their basicity when mixed with acids. Bases react with acids to form salt and water. ... They can conduct electricity. Bases feel slippery or soapy. Some bases are great conductors of electricity.