What is the last name hernandez come from?

Hernández is a widespread Spanish surname that became common around the 15th century.

---

Hernández is a widespread Spanish surname that became common around the 15th century. Originally a patronymic it means son of Hernán Hernando or Fernando the Spanish version of Germanic Ferdinand. Fernández is a very common variant of the name Hernandes and Fernandes are their Portuguese equivalents