Who created the clock?

The first clocks were created by monks who needed a way to mark time for their prayers, even when the sun wasn't shining. They also invented the first alarm clocks, which were regulated by dripping water.

---

Galileo had the idea to use a swinging bob to regulate the motion of a time-telling device earlier in the 17th century. Christiaan Huygens, however, is usually credited as the inventor.