How many letters are in the biggest word in english history?

The longest word you'll find in major dictionaries is PNEUMONOULTRAMICROSCOPICSILICOVOLCANOCONIOSIS which has 45 letters. It is a very technical name for a particular miner's lung disease, but the short name for it is silicosis.