What does monetary gift mean?

A Monetary Gift is, Cash or a cash equivalent that an individual transfers to another individual, while neither receiving nor expecting anything in return. As with all gifts, a money gift is taxable in the United States, but only if its value exceeds $13,000 & is not specifically excluded.