When was the u. s. independence?

Independence Day commemorates the Declaration of Independence of the United States, on July 4, 1776. The Continental Congress declared that the 13 American colonies were no longer subject to the monarch of Britain and were now united, free, and independent states.

---

The several states issued and signed the Declaration Of Independence on July 4, 1776. The Revolutionary War started shortly thereafter.