Why is pickleball called pickleball?

While not as fanciful as Pickles the dog the game’s actual name came from Joan Prichard, a competitive rower who said because the game was a hodgepodge of tennis, badminton & ping pong it reminded her of a “pickle boat” a term used to describe a weaker, mismatched, or poor excess for a boat team.