How fast is metal sonic?

With this system, Metal Sonic is able to beat Sonic's acceleration, who can instantly accelerate to the speed of sound, and equal Sonic's speed; on a few occasions, Metal Sonic is even able to surpass the speed of Sonic, whose highest known top speed is Mach 5.