Where were the first french fries cooked?

The history is in dispute. In 1673, Francisco Núñez de Pineda mentioned eating "papas fritas", or fried potatoes, in 1629, but it is not known what exactly these were. Fries may have been invented in Spain, the first European country in which the potato appeared from the New World colonies.