When did china become communist?

October 1949

---

The Chinese Communist Revolution, led by the Communist Party of China and Chairman Mao Zedong, resulted in the proclamation of the People's Republic of China, on 1 October 1949. The revolution began in 1946 and was part of the Chinese Civil War (1945–49).