How does an internal combustion engine work?

An engine using liquid fuel internal as combustion engine, is basically a large air pump. Cool air is drawn in, mixed with the fuel of choice to create power, then expelled as hot exhaust gas afterward. The more efficiently this air pump of an engine breathes, the more efficiently it produces power.