What's the name of the caribbean?

The islands in the Caribbean Sea, the sea itself, and the surrounding coasts all make up the caribbean. This area is commonly referred to as The West Indies. In case you're curious about the pronunciation: Jamaicans generally pronounce the word with the emphasis on the 'rib' part of the word.