What is a fast forty eight transform?

A fast Fourier Transform is a method of computing the discrete fourier transform of a periodic or windowed signal so its frequency spectrum can be analyzed. It has applications in audio and image processing, communications, sonar, magnetic resonance imaging, and other fields.