How often should you clean your makeup brushes?

Dermatologists recommend that you should clean each makeup brush at least every 7 to 10 days, especially those you use most often like foundation and concealer brushes. But what about a makeup brush you use less often? Brushes used around your eyes should be cleaned at least twice a month.