How do i soften dark brown sugar?

To quickly soften brown sugar, place the sugar in a microwave safe bowl, cover it with a damp paper towel, and microwave it for 20 seconds. If you have more time, you can also place the hardened brown sugar in an airtight container, with a piece of bread, for 24 hours to soften it.

---

You can warm it in the microwave or add a moist towel. Both break up the crystals