What's the definition of f. a. u. x.?

FAUX is a French word. It means false. For example, the phrase "faux pas" means false step or mistake. When used in English it can also mean imitation or phony. For example, saying a chair is upholstered in faux leather means it is upholstered in imitation leather material.