Who is bernard getz?

Bernhard Goetz, in full Bernhard Hugo Goetz, Jr., (born November 7, 1947, Queens, New York, U.S.), American vigilante who rose to national fame when he shot four African-American males on a New York City subway train on December 22, 1984.