What year did scientist start giving hurricanes human names?

The UN is responsible for global naming of storms. This started with all female names in 1953 and was adopted by N O A A. In 1978 a rotating 6 year list was established for both Male and female names. Some names are retired to be sensitive to the destruction of life and property suffered.