What's the hottest thing on earth?

By zapping a piece of aluminum with the world's most powerful x-ray laser, physicists have heated matter to 3.6 million degrees Fahrenheit (2 million degrees Celsius)—making it briefly the hottest thing on Earth.

---

By zapping a piece of aluminum with the world's most powerful x-ray laser, physicists have heated the matter to 3.6 million degrees Fahrenheit, making it briefly the hottest thing on Earth.