What does dot o. r. g. mean?

Dot org is a generic top-level domain of the Domain Name System used in the Internet. The name is truncated from organization. It was one of the original domains established in 1985 and operated by the Public Interest Registry since 1988. The domain extension was originally created for non-profits.