Who was alex the parrot?

Alex was a Congo African Grey parrot, owned by animal psychologist Irene Pepperberg. She studied his capability to understand, rather than just mimic, language. Alex revealed that parrots were capable of understanding language, solving complex problems, and using words creatively to communicate.