What is the u. s. mainland?

The U S mainland is made up of the 48 states bordered on the north by Canada, the east by the Atlantic Ocean, the West by the Pacific Ocean and the south by Mexico and the Gulf of Mexico. It excludes Alaska and Hawaii.