What is a witching stick?

A witching stick is a Y-shaped twig or rod, or two L-shaped ones, called a dowsing rod, or witching rods, are used during dowsing. Dowsing is a type of divining used to find ground water, buried metals, gemstones, and oil. There is no scientific evidence that it is more effective than random chance.