How far is one lightyear away?

A light year away in distance is 6,000,000,000,000 miles or 9,000,000,000,000 km

---

A light year is the distance that light would travel in one year’s time. If light travels about 186000 miles per second and there are 31536000 seconds in one calendar year, then a light year is about 5.87 times 10 to the twelfth miles.