What is a soup chef?

Soup chefs prepare the day's soups, sauces and stocks. ... A soup chef, or potager, whips up those delightful and tempting soups you see on the menu. While larger restaurants leave the potager to work only on soups, smaller restaurants may also require her to fill the role of prep cook.