How do you carve a pumpkin on minecraft?

A carved pumpkin is an item that you can not make with a crafting table or furnace. Instead, you need to use shears to carve a face into a pumpkin. Find pumpkin. Hold shears over pumpkin. Once it is carved, you can pick it and add it to your inventory.