What's the difference between a chrysalis and a cocoon?

A chrysalis is formed out of an insects outer exo-skeleton. While a cocoon is spun from silk.

---

chrysalis is strictly used for the butterfly pupa. A cocoon is the silk casing that a moth caterpillar spins around it before it turns into a pupa.