Does a zebra have black stripes or white stripes?

Most zebras have dark skin beneath their fur but the stripes do not consist of white fur with gaps in between – they have both black and white fur. This implies that black is the default colour of the fur and that's why most authorities and experts describe zebras as black with white stripes.