What's the main ingredient in poi?

Poi or Popoi is a traditional staple food in the Polynesian diet, made from starchy vegetables, usually breadfruit, taro or plantain. Traditional poi is produced by mashing cooked starch on a wooden pounding board, with a carved pestle made from basalt, coral or wood.

---

Poi is a starchy porridge or mash that is a staple in the Polynesian diet. It is made from Taro root, a plant that grows easily in the South Sea Islands. Much like potatoes, the tubers are boiled, peeled, and mashed or pureed. It is very bland by itself and is sometimes mixed with mashed fruit