What is a computer cookie?

An computer cookie is a small piece of data sent from a website and stored on the user's computer by the user's web browser while the user is browsing. Cookies were designed to be a reliable mechanism for websites to remember stateful information or to record the user's browsing activity.

---

A computer cookie, or HTTP cookie, is a text file holding a unique ID, placed on a user's computer by a website they visit.

---

A computer cookie is a piece of data that tracks information about a user between each time you access a site.