What is the name of the facility that launched the world's first satellite into space?

Sputnik's official designation was “PS-1” or “Elementary Satellite 1” in Russian. The satellite was launched from what is now called the Baikonur Cosmodrome on Oct. 4, 1957. The 184.3-pound (83.6 kg) craft's primary function was to place a radio transmitter into orbit around the Earth.