Is an a. r. fifteen considered an assault rifle?

No. An assault rifle is by definition a rifle capable of selective fire that fires an intermediate cartridge. While the AR-15 uses an intermediate cartridge, it is semi-automatic only and not capable of selective fire, thus, it is not an assault rifle.