Where does the saying that's all she wrote come from?

It's an American phrase, attributing its origin to Dear John letters sent during World War 2. Soldiers joked while comparing letters from lovers: one being a pages-long good-bye letter, one consisting of a few sentences, and one simply saying “Dear John." The punchline being, “That’s all she wrote.”